History of Language Politics in Odisha! - Teatv apk

History of Language Politics in Odisha!

 For the delimination of proposed Odisha Province O’Donel committee was set up in 1931. Two other members were H.M. Mehta of Bombey and T.R. Phookun of Assam, a part from K.C. Gajapati represented Odisha as associated member.

 Sachidananda Sinha represented Bihar, C.V. Narasimha Raju represented Telgu and B.C. Mukharjee from Bengal. The terms of reference to the committee were:-

1.     If a separate province of Orissa were to be created-

(a) What would be the boundaries of such a province ?

(b) What would be the administrative, financial and other consequences in such a province ?

(c)  What would be the administrative, financial and other consequences in the adjoining territories of British India?

The Committee met for the first time at Patna on the 7th November 1931 and was anxious to enlist the assistance and co-operation of the public. It invited submission of written memoranda from public bodies, organized associations, and leading members of the general public. 

During that period the Utkal union conference and Orissa Congress unit were combined and called the united Orissa conference. Nilakantha Das was the president of this body.

On behalf of the conference the president presented a memorandum on the Utkal Province on November 8th, 1931 to the O’Donnell committee.     After a thorough study the committee submitted its report on 19, April 1932. Accordingly Anugul, Kharial, Raipur, Ganjam district in the Vizagapatanam region should be a part of Odisha division. A total area of 3300 sq. 

Miles and a population of 8,277,00 should now be incorporated to the older Odisha division as mentioned in the report. After the 3rd Round Table Conference the home Govt. published the long awaited white paper on 18th March, 1933 containing proposals for constitutional reforms in India and the boundaries of the proposed Orissa Province. 

A white paper was published in March, 1933, but what it proposed was only a moth-eaten Odisha. It mentioned Orissa as a Governers Province along with 10 provinces of British India. 

The white paper reduced the area from 33,000 sq. miles to 21,545 sq.miles by excluding Vizagapatnam Agency against the recommendations of many committees earlier. Because it excluded Vizagapatanam, Jalantar, maliahs and Paralakhemundi. As a protest against it, Maharaja K.C. Gajapati immediately rushed to London and met Sir Samuel Hoare the than secretary of state for India, who assured for a sympathetic consideration to their caused and all hurdles for the creation of a separate province were cleared.

          Mean while a joint Parliamentary committee under the chairmanship of Lord Lin Lith go was set up.27 The joint parliamentary committee scrutinized the demands of Odisha and made their announcement before public on 22th November, 1934. Accordingly Anugul, Padmapur, Kharial, Ganjam, Barahampur, Joypore, Meliahs, Jalantar and 30% of Parlakhemundi would merge with the old Odisha division. It cleared all the stubling-blocks from the path for the creation of a separate province of Odisha. Indeed speaking i made the Odia’s very happy.

          To cap it all the government of India Act was promulgated in 1935, clause 289 of this Act granted the recognition to Odisha as a new province. The British emperor ratified to the clauses on 3rd March, 1936. 

There after the long awaited dream came to reality on 1st April 1936. The new province of Odisha which was inaugurated in 1st April, 1936, comprised an area of 32,695 sq. Miles with a population of 80,43,681. Mostly these areas wise drawn from Madras, central Provinces and added to the Odisha Division of Bihar and Odisha.

Area and Population of the New Province

Name of the Province

Area (sq. Miles)



Central Province

Bihar and Odisha

17, 400









          The province of Odisha constituted as such consisting of six district of Cuttack, Puri, Balasore, Ganjam, Koraput and Angul. The grand inaugural ceremony was held in the Ravenshaw College Hall and Sir John Austin Hubback was sworn in by the chief justice of Patna High Court as the first Governer of Odisha. With it began a new phase in the history of Odisha.

Leave a Comment